Cardiovascular and Interventional Radiological Society of Europe

September 25-29 | Lisbon, Portugal

September 25-29 | Lisbon, Portugal

September 25-29 | Lisbon, Portugal

September 25-29 | Lisbon, Portugal

September 25-29 | Lisbon, Portugal

EventsCIRSE 2021Award of Excellence

Award of Excellence and Innovation in IR

Application criteria | Picture gallery | Past winners

The Award of Excellence and Innovation in Interventional Radiology is sponsored by the Rolf W. Günther Foundation for Radiological Sciences and is awarded for outstanding work for the advancement of interventional radiology. Established in 2012, this distinction has been given to some of the most innovative physicians in the field. The distinction comes with a cash prize of € 6,000.

Application criteria

  • Application is open to professionals from all over the world
  • The topic must be related to interventional radiology
  • The following material is considered suitable for submission:
    – original research work published or accepted for publication in a peer-reviewed scientific journal (CVIR, European Radiology, etc.)
    – a registered patent
    – published data on an innovative device or equipment relevant for interventional radiology procedures
  • Application must be accompanied by a CV including a publication list of the professional submitting the application
  • If the applicant is part of a research team related to the application, he/she shall also submit a short description of the team and its members
  • The award winner will be chosen from a list of applicants received and suggestions from the reviewing board.

Please submit your application to [email protected] or via post mail to:

CIRSE Central Office
“Award of Excellence and Innovation in IR”
Neutorgasse 9
1010 Vienna, Austria

Application deadline: May 14, 2021

Past winners

2020Frédéric Deschamps for his work on percutaneous fixation by internal cemented-screw in bone cancer patients
2019Boris Guiu and Mathieu T. Boulin for their work on Idarubicin as Anticancer Agent for Transarterial Chemoembolisation (TACE) of Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC)
2018M. Itkin for his development of new imaging and intervention techniques of the lymphatic system
2017Hans Henkes for his pioneering development of cerebral stent thrombectomy in the management of acute ischemic stroke
2017MRCLEAN trialists for their groundbreaking trial on endovascular treatment for acute ischemic stroke
2016F. Carnevale for his pioneering work on prostate embolisation
2015P. Bize, G. Borchard, A. Denys, K. Fuchs and O. Jordan for their research on drug-eluting beads loaded with anti-angiogenic agents for chemoembolisation
2014M.G.E.H. Lam, J.F.W. Nijsen and M.A.A.J. van den Bosch for their development of the Holmium-166 microspheres and assessing safety and maximum tolerated radiation dose
2013S. Lerouge and G. Soulez for their development of an embolizing sclerosing hydrogel for the treatment of endoleaks, vascular malformations and venous disease
2012A. Bolia and J.A. Reekers for their development and promotion of subintimal angioplasty

CIRSE would like to warmly thank the R.W. Günther Foundation for funding the award.