Cardiovascular and Interventional Radiological Society of Europe


Subcommittees are established by the Executive Committee and provide continuous expertise in specific medical topics as assigned to them by the Executive Committee.

Endovascular Subcommittee

The Endovascular Subcommittee was formally constituted in 2016 to advise the society on questions related to endovascular therapies, and to develop and launch projects that will support IR in this field. The Endovascular Subcommittee has conducted a large survey on clinical practice in IR and is currently working on certification and accreditation processes for endovascular specialists.

Michael LeeChairperson
Miguel Casares Santiago
Pascal Chabrot
Fabrizio Fanelli
Mohamad Hamady
Konstantinos Katsanos
Hong Kuan Kok
Robert Morgan
Stefan Müller-Hülsbeck
Thomas Rodt
Florian Wolf

European Trainee Forum (ETF) Subcommittee

The ETF Subcommittee was established in 2015 with the aim to provide expertise on IR training and career development, representing CIRSE junior members and other IRs in training at the beginning of their career. The subcommittee actively supports the next generation of IRs through dedicated activities and networking opportunities at the annual congress. Learn more about the ETF.

FranceRoberto L. Cazzato, Chairperson
SloveniaRok Dežman, Deputy ChairpersonŠpela Koršič
United KingdomGregory Makris, Past Chairperson
AustriaGregor LaimerCatharina Klausenitz
BelgiumCorentin DelhayeEveline Claus
Bosnia and HerzegovinaKristian Karlović
Bulgaria Done Cilkov
CroatiaAntonio BulumElvira Krešić
Czech RepublicTo be appointedMatěj Štefánek
EstoniaKaarel Kärmas
FinlandHeikki Elias Pärssinen
FranceLaetitia SaccentiPierre De Marini
GermanyJonathan NadjiriHenrike Renate Ziegler
GreeceEvgenia EfthymiouSpyridon Prountzos
HungaryAndrás BibokKinga Kecskés
IrelandCormac O'Brien
ItalyFrancesco GiurazzaRosa Cervelli
LatviaNauris Zdanovskis
LithuaniaMantas Buitkus
The NetherlandsAyou CharehbiliMorsal Samim-Nizak
NorwayLasse RøvikAnne Marte Schroder-Aasen
PolandKrzysztof PyraMałgorzata Milnerowicz
PortugalInês Conde VascoJoão Louro
SerbiaSlobodan TorbicaIvana Stojić
SlovakiaLukáš VinczeGabriela Vidanová
SpainMaria Pilar Servent SaenzIgnacio González-Huebra
SwedenOlof JonmarkerBoglarka Tot
SwitzerlandAdrian Kobe
United KingomJim ZhongBhavna Pitrola

Oncology Alliance Subcommittee (OAS)

The Oncology Alliance Subcommittee was established in 2013 to advise the CIRSE leadership on all questions relating to interventional oncology, guide the society’s activities with regards to IO registries and to propose and develop initiatives that will help IO establish itself as the fourth pillar of cancer care. Flagship projects initiated by the OAS include IASIOS, CIRSE’s membership in ECCO and the IO Curriculum.

Andreas AdamChairperson
Thierry de Baère
Laura Crocetti
Alban Denys
Afshin Gangi
Thomas Helmberger
Liz Kenny
Philippe Pereira

Radiation Protection Subcommittee

The Radiation Protection Subcommittee was established in 2012 as the society’s expert body on radiation safety, radiation protection and dose management. In 2014, the subcommittee launched CIRSE’s very successful annual awareness campaign for radiation safety, the Radiation Protection Pavilion. The subcommittee also represents CIRSE in the EuroSafe Imaging campaign and in relevant European Commission tenders.

Werner JaschkeChairperson
Gabriel Bartal
Mario Bezzi
Elias Brountzos
Efstathios Efstathopoulos
Patrick Haage
Reinhard Loose
Eliseo Vano
Robert Morgan
Graciano PauloExternal Advisor
Madan RehaniExternal Advisor
Erich SorantinExternal Advisor

Social Media Subcommittee

The Social Media Subcommittee advises the Executive Committee on various aspects of its social media strategy. It provides content for the CIRSE social media channels and nominates physicians to provide guest input.

Alex BarnacleChairperson
Florian Wolf
Julien Garnon
Miltos Krokidis
Jim Reekers
Andras Bibok